The “Non-Athletic” Runner

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Okay … so I floated through my youth, teen, and college years believing I was not athletic. I did not (and do not) enjoy sports. Running seemed … boring frankly. And I really didn’t prefer to exert myself any more than I had to.

For most of my life, I used my mom as an excuse. She was my role-model for the “I’m not athletic” line. I just said I inherited my non-sporty gene from my mom.

And then, at age 48, she ran a marathon.

Well, crap. There goes my excuse. I’m in my early twenties. Still have plenty of time to develop ability to run. So, last summer I completed a 5K training program.  If I’m being honest, I did not give it my best effort. I ran as little as I could thinking it would still count. I finished the program 8 weeks …. but I really couldn’t say I felt like I could run well by the end of it.

So at the beginning of this year (2014), we started paying attention to how we were eating and learned that if we wanted to eat more, we had to exercise more. So we purchased fitbit’s, which motivated us to get up and move … and Jonathan started training to run a marathon – so it was time for me to give running another chance.

This time around: I am 20 pounds lighter, I walked 2.5 miles every day for a month before I started running, and I’m in a different place mentally. That place being that I knew I could run – I just needed to do it. So rather than running as little as I could, I’m trying to run as much as I possibly can. Only stopping to walk when I absolutely need to (or there is a giant hill).

Leave a Reply

