Goals and Accountability

Looking back on the year 2012, there were a lot of milestone moments! I graduated from college, Jonathan and I got engaged, then married, and I got my first full time job. We were also a part of 3 weddings for beloved friends/family. It was a busy, exciting year — but sometimes I feel like on a personal level I didn’t accomplish much. I was too busy trying to keep up with tasks that I didn’t make time to focus on my growth and internalizing all the changes happening in my life.

471829_10151379550503582_1763478704_o

Now it’s 2013. A new year, but not a fresh start. This year picks up where the last one ended, and will remain stagnant unless I choose to make changes. Jonathan and I have already been together two calendar years, but this will be the first one we’ll be married. There are bound to be continued changes and adjustments, but the great thing is we have each other to work toward goals and hold each other accountable.

I say goals because resolutions are just words. “I resolve to do this or that” has no action. It’s just a thought or inclination that we realize there is a better way to live. Instead, I’d like to set goals.

  • We recently become members at a nearby YMCA. We pay to be allowed to work out there, and our goal is to make that a regular habit. Not to lose weight, but just to be healthy, active people. And to get our money’s worth!
  • Jonathan suggested we read through the entire Bible this year. Thanks to technology, we found a Bible website that has an app for our phones, a number of reading plans to choose from, and it keeps track for us! We can literally read our Bible anywhere we go without having the excuse of not bring a physical Bible with us.
  • The Smith family decided in October that they’d like to plan one weekend a month for the whole family to get together. It doesn’t matter whose house or what we do, we just want be intentional about making time for family.The Heck family is a little more challenging since my two siblings are spread out at college, but typically we try see my parents about once a month as well.
  • I’d like to find a way to be intentional about using my creative talents. I don’t know what that looks like, but I need to make time outside of work (which is not creative) to do something creative.
  • I want to start reading again. TV is so much easier and a lot less work for my brain after working 8 hours a day. I have a whole bunch of books sitting and waiting to be read — I just need to make time to read and grow.
  • Try new recipes. Our dinner repertoire is pretty slim. I’d like to find more easy, healthy meals.
  • I’d like to keep our house clean. Within 3 months, we had wedding gifts and Christmas gifts, plus a merging of our stuff, and my parents trying to purge my stuff from their house. Our house needs a good reorganization so we can keep it neat and presentable. And so my head doesn’t explode from anxiety.
  • In the life stage we’re in, it seems like every other person is having a baby. We aren’t quite there yet, but I’d like to make a list of the things we’d like to do as a couple before we add kids to the picture — and start saving money because I have a feeling most of the things on the list will involve travel.
  • I also vow to maintain my blog ūüėČ In all seriousness though, writing is incredibly¬†therapeutic¬†for me. It helped me cope with planning a wedding. So whether I post daily or weekly, I’d like to document our life for me even if no one else reads it.

These aren’t fancy goals. They’re all rather attainable if we choose to¬†prioritize¬†time¬†differently. God first, spouse second, family third, ourselves last, then work. It’s easy to say and challenging to do … but I’d like to try.

Here’s to a 2013 full of accomplishment!

Leave a Reply

