Thankful

Thanksgiving was our first holiday as a married couple. There was a little stress during the scheduling process (on my end), but I’m thankful we were able to attend Jonathan’s family celebration and spend a few days with my family. We are truly blessed to have two amazing families who love us!

This year I’m thankful for:

  • My husband: He is a blessing to me constantly. I love that I get to spend the rest of my life learning more about him. I’m thankful for his enthusiasm for so many different things — Christmas and electric guitars have been the latest excitement around the Smith home.
  • My parents: They are such a wonderful example of a strong, long-lasting marriage. I appreciate their commitment and dedication to each other so much more now that I’m married. Their love and parenting had shaped so much of who I am and who I will become.
  • My mother-in-law: Never before have a met a woman with such strong faith and tender spirit. Her devotion to family is an incredible blessing, and I’m honored to be her daughter-in-law. I am thankful for the influence she will have on my life, and for the influence she has had on Jonathan.
  • My siblings (both biological and in-law): Such a mixed bag of nuts — and I mean that in the most sincere way! Combined, Jonathan and I have an incredible group of siblings — funloving, deep thinkers, enthusiastic, calm, etc. I think every character trait is represented in this group and I love it!
  • Our jobs: I’m thankful Jonathan and I both found full-time salaried jobs straight out of college. Even though my job isn’t really related to my degree or passions, I’m thankful to have found something close where I feel like I have been of some use. I’m thankful that because we have two incomes we don’t have to worry too much about finances right now.
  • Weddings: Although they are expensive and time consuming, I’m thankful for the 4 weddings we were involved this summer (ours included) and the 1 (that we know of) next summer. I’m thankful for good friendships and the love that people have found and celebrated this year.
  • DVR: This seems materialistic compared to the others on the list, but I really appreciate it. It lets us live our life on our schedule and choose when and what we’d like to watch on TV. It also makes sports games shorter and allows us to pause if something more important comes up!
  • Finishing college: My last semester of school was pretty uneventful since I was only taking one class, but I’m happy to have finished! I’m thankful for the time I had at Indiana Wesleyan and for the position I had at the TV station for 3 years. I truly miss working there and appreciate all that I learned.

We are have had a very blessed year! I’m so thankful we have been able to start our life together surrounded by so much to be thankful for.

Happy Thanksgiving!

thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

