We’re in the Twenties!

We have been so busy lately I have completely neglected my blog! No wonder I’ve felt like there were a million thoughts floating around my head with no where to go! It’s been quite a week and a half .. I don’t even know where to begin.

For starters, our senior pastor at church resigned. It’s sad, but I know he had good reason and it was the best decision for him and his family. He is still marrying us, which I’m overjoyed about it … and the bonus is now that he is not Jonathan’s boss he is doing continued premarital counseling with us! We had our first “session” this past Monday and it was incredible. He and his wife know the challenges that we’ll face as a ministry couple, and as parents of married kids they’re able to give us counsel on family too. It’s so personal and beneficial. He’s also given us a number of marriage books that he highly reccomends, and I am so excited to read them all!

This past week has also involved some birthday festitivities for Mr. Smith … he turned 27 on Wednesday! Last weekend, we celebrated with his whole family at the lake and Wednesday night he and I went out to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants, Houlihans. Just yum. That’s all I can say 🙂 AND somehow we managed to hit a night where more of our food was free than paid for. As a part of their e-mail club, we get a free entree on our birthdays, so Jonathan’s dinner was free, we also got free fancy fries because it was a special that night, and they were having happy hour for appetizers, so we got free spinach dip with “crackers” – which were actually more like crispy thin crust cheese covered pizza crusts without the sauce. Delicious. That’s a win in my book!

The most recent exciting update … we’ve picked up AND completely paid for both of our wedding bands!! AHHH!! I love them both 🙂 it’s all I can do not to just stare at them all night!

This weekend is my first shower!!! Hooray! Ladies at church are throwing it and all church ladies are invited! I’m not sure how many will come because obviously I don’t know everyone, but either way it will be wonderful! My mom is coming down for the shower, and my dad is tagging along so he can help us paint this weekend. I hope we can get a lot done because we don’t have a lot of time left to finish!

We also got our first wedding present shipped to us yesterday … well … we noticed it yesterday. The back of the house is where we park cars and enter and exit … and the packages were delivered to the front door that neither of us almost ever passes. But we’re just glad we found it before a storm!

Leave a Reply

