Groupthink

Tonight is my second night meeting with the TV News class. I’m supposed to come in to the class so we can discuss set and graphic design, and do some brainstorming.

I’m nervous.

I know all of these people. They are my peers. And that makes this even more challenging. Who am I to be in charge? I question how far my leadership goes every single step of this project. I’d do all the extra work myself if I could … but I know a good leader takes people with them.

My biggest fear for this week, is that I’ll show the class what we did last time — just to get them thinking. But then what will happen?  Crickets? That’s what I hope doesn’t happen, but what I’m worried will happen. I have ideas, but I want to get some feedback before sharing my thoughts. I don’t want to say, “here’s what I’m thinking….” and then for them to think they can’t give feedback.

 

We’ll see how this thing goes.

Leave a Reply

