Closure

I realized I never really wrapped up my time at WTHR. I don’t know that there is an easy way to summarize the things I learned during my 8 week internship. But I guess I can give it a try.

My whole concept of news has changed. I watch it differently, I think about it differently. Actually, I’m starting to avoid reading what many people consider news. And I think I’ve finally come up with a definition of news. It’s not what people want to hear. It’s what people need to hear to know about the community they live in. Whether that’s profiling a local business owner, or reporting on a murderer … those are people things people need to know to be more aware of their surroundings. Should we know that there are people missing — maybe. But maybe only until we recognize that there is no serial kidnapper out to get us. There is not need for 4 weeks of news coverage on one missing person.

Maybe I’m cynical. Or insensitive. Call me whatever you want. I’d rather hear that a new business is moving into a formerly abandoned building, than hear about how hot it is outside. I’d rather hear that the humane society is giving free dogs to new pet owners, than hear that there was a car accident earlier in the day with no injuries that has since been cleaned up.

Since I’ve been home, I’ve seen a lot of people who have asked about my summer. As I finish telling them about how this internship has affected my career goals, they always ask, “so any idea what you want to do after you graduate?” It’s been tough because I have no answer. I’m so used to thinking I have all the answers, and truthfully, I don’t. I’ve finally come to accept that, but it’s no longer easy to answer that question. Luckily, I’m realizing the most important part of life isn’t what you’re do … it’s who you’re doing it with. It doesn’t matter whether I have my whole future planned out. As long as there are people alongside me encouraging me, supporting me, and telling me life is going to be okay whether I have a dream job or not, I think I’ll be okay.

This summer changed my life. Not for the good or bad necessarily. It’s just different. In a few short weeks, I’ll head back to Marion. Get ready for my final year of college. Move into my first rental home. Return to a job I love, working with people I love. I have less than a year left to “figure out what I want to be when I grow up.” The clock is ticking, and strangely, for the first time, I don’t feel pressured to make a decision.

Leave a Reply

