End in Sight

Last week and the beginning of this one haven’t been bad. I haven’t done anything earth-shattering, but I’ve pretty much accepted that I can’t do that here. But as an intern, I’m finally being given stuff to do – still not by producers (they are to frustrating to try and work with) – but by reporters who are finding my help very valuable.

I finished up my work with John Stehr and the generation project. It airs this week and I’ll be posting links to those stories soon. I’ve logged numerous interviews for it, and plan on putting together one or two packages of my own from the footage accumulated through that. At the end of last week, John handed me a folder of scripts for his generation stories, and said, “Let me know what you think of these or if I need to change anything.” At first I thought, he was just saying that. I read through them, and just planned on giving the scripts back to him, but he came over to the desk I was working at and asked honestly, “What do you think? Is there anything missing?” I was sort of surprised. To have an anchor ask for an interns opinion … like I actually knew something?! It was a weird feeling. I knew he wanted me to read through since I was familiar with the interviews, but I didn’t realize my thoughts would actually be valued. Unfortunately, I really couldn’t give him any changes … I thought he did a great job putting all the information together. We discussed the lack of b-roll and the fact that the stories weren’t very visual, but didn’t really have many solutions.

That took up most of my time for the last week and a half. I tried to teach myself the editing software … and that was a unique challenge. I have to have 3 things on my “demo reel” before I leave … so my last two weeks are going to be spent putting that together. I’ve also been helping a sunrise reporter line up some interviews for this week and next about school related issues. That means e-mailing people, calling them. Stuff I really don’t like doing because I always feel like I’m bothering them, but it’s good practice because that’s basically what my job is at WIWU … and it’s getting easier. And I’m realizing that people should want to talk to us because it’s either somewhat promotional or it lets people know their story.

That’s been really all that’s happened. My countdown to the end is in single digits. I’ve already passed my required number of hours. The light at the end of the tunnel is clearly visible, and that is both motivational and frustrating. I’m looking forward to school, a feeling of stability and normalcy, my senior project, and producing Crossroads. I’m ready to go back.

Leave a Reply

