breakin’ at the cracks

It’s the end of the first week of a new semester.  In the past, this week has exposed me to all the work I’ll be required to do, but it also calms any fears I had coming into a set of classes.  The professor explains their expectations and assignments for the whole semester, and by the end of it all, I have a general success plan for getting through the semester unharmed.

This year, all I’ve realized is that this semester is going to push me further out of my comfort zone than ever before.  I’m taking classes I’m not comfortable in. I’m learning about things I have no prior knowledge in. There are assignments dealing with new territory I’ve never entered.

I’m taking Public Policy as an elective to become a better journalist and gain a knowledge of what I may be reporting on in the future.  I’m one of the only people in the class with no prior knowledge, and I’ve spent time completing the assigned reading and taking notes on it! I’m lost, but I’m trying. It’s tough knowing that I’m going to have to work exceptionally harder than everyone else.

My leadership classes aren’t presenting any groundbreakingly new information, but the assignments add a dimension of challenge that will push me further out of the realm I’m comfortable in.  My Team Leadership class will have us working as a team on a project I know nothing about, and I’m worried I won’t be interested in or passionate about. My Lifeskills and Career class is going to be exceptionally helpful in marketing myself and furthering my career development, but I am going to have to be uncomfortable on many occasions.

My Com classes are my haven. I thrive in those classes because I know what to expect and what is expected of me.  I have friends who can help along the way, and be supportive of challenges or obstacles I may come across. But I have one credit that might throw me for a loop.  Radio. I not thrilled with the performance side of broadcasting, and a lot of what we have to do in that class is perform.  I have to be on the radio 2 hours a week for the rest of the semester, and that freaks me out!

So needless to say, there is a lot of stretching that will need to happen this semester. I’m pushing the edge of what is comfortable, and moving into new territory.

Leave a Reply

