a blessing in disguise

It’s interesting to me how people don’t really change. Hear me out … this is not coming from a negative standpoint, ripping on the human population. I’ve simply observed that much of who we are as adults can be seen in who we were as kids.  As a kid, I was bossy and independent, always wanting things done my way. I was headstrong then, and I’m still headstrong now, although about different things.

Once or twice a week, I am an assistant at an in home daycare. Watching the kids there interact with each other, and with me, has made me think about who they will be when they’re older. They are all under 5, but it’s really clear that they all have distinct personalities and interests. And not one kid is the same as another.

The kids are all outgoing and have no problems making friends, but because there are so many other kids to contest with, they each have different ways of trying to get our attention. The boys usually take to violence (whether it’s harming themselves or another kid), and the girls usually involve theatrics.

Andrew is the smallest boy. He’s quite the cuddler and has a charm that tells me he’s going to be quite the ladies man. He’s polite, nice to the others, and very well behaved.

Nate loves to talk.  He’ll play outside well with the other boys, but if given the choice, would much rather be imaginative and just talk. He stands and talks to me about the craziest things while the other kids have water fights or play tag. He’s going to be one of the kids in class who everyone likes and always has something interesting to add to the conversation.

Jack on the other hand, is completely opposite. I don’t think I’ve ever had a conversation with him that didn’t end with him running off mid-sentence or being punished. He will be the class clown who pulls goofy stunts simply for the sake of attention. He toes the line and acts up … but I think he just wants to make sure we remember he’s there.

Jake is the typical alpha male. He’s the oldest boy and he knows it. He’s the biggest, the toughest, and the loudest. He uses all of these things to his advantage, and tends to bully the younger kids to get what he wants. On the other hand, when properly acknowledged, he can be a sweetheart; helping the other kids, and behaving very older brotherly to the younger ones.

The girls are a slew of divas and drama queens.

Autumn spends most of the day pretending to be Buzz Lightyear. She can quote the Toy Story movies by heart, while acting them out. I predict we have a future star of high school theater in the making. She is very good at explaining what she wants or needs and loves pretending to be different characters.

(Baby) Emma Lou is the cutest little girl you’ll ever see. She’s got big blue eyes, soft, curling blonde hair, and a sweet little voice. However, she’s a bit of a queen bee. She wants what she wants when she wants it. She will not take no for an answer, and if no is the answer, she will simply continue to ask until the answer changes. She’ll thrive on her stubbornness and good looks as she gets older.

(Big) Emma is a diva. Cute, outgoing, and loves to dress up. I’ve put more dress up skirts on that girl than anyone else. And she knows how to throw a fit when she’s in the mood. She’s loud, she’s got a lot of energy, and she knows how to turn on the charm when she needs it.

So a lively bunch of kids I work with. And what a blessing they are. They have taught me so much about everything. I’ve learned patience, tolerance, negotiation, how to change a diaper, rediscover imagination, and understand baby talk. Apparently, I do have some maternal instincts somewhere in me, and these kids are bringing it out. They brighten my day with their smiles, cuddles, and crazy stories about pirates, space rangers, and birds.

2 thoughts on “a blessing in disguise

  1. EscapisT says:

    I personally can say that I am not a kid person but I love to see kids having fun playing or just seeing them sleeping peacefully though I hate it when they are throwing fits and tantrums. Truly they can teach you a lot of things even by just observing them. Good luck at your work.. just passing by 🙂

  2. Jason says:

    This is great Jaclyn. While I don’t have the years of parenting behind me that others do, I definitely see these same observations in my own kids.

Leave a Reply

