it’s beginning to look a lot like summer

In years past, now is the time that I would start to get excited about summer vacation, having time off school, trips, relaxing, etc. I’ve been home for a month and a half now, and the novelty has worn off.  My room is nice, it’s nice to see my family, it’s nice being able to do nothing during the day, but I’m starting to get antsy.

I just experienced the best year of my life … I was almost always busy, always seeing friends, and treasuring any breaks and time off I had. But going from constant motion and busyness to a standstill is sometimes hard to deal with. Anytime I want to do anything, I have to get in my car and drive there. It’s not a simple five to ten minute walk anymore.  I always have to tell someone where I’m going to be now, just because I’m not living on my own. I feel like all the independence I gained over the past year is being reined back in, and boredom is beginning to set in.

A typical day goes something like this …. wake up 9:00 am, go to the gym, come home, shower, make lunch, watch Gilmore Girls, watch something I have taped, [if it’s nice] read outside and tan, eat dinner, watch Friends, go on facebook, go to sleep anywhere from 10:30 to 2:30. Some days I work, and soon, I’ll be babysitting for a couple weeks here and there, but there is very little different about each day.  The days of the week start to blur together, and I only know that it’s the weekend because my family is home and different shows are on TV.

I’m an introvert, and I do like solitude, but not this much. And I don’t know how to hang out with people without having to spend money.  People always say, let’s go out to eat or let’s go see a movie, but I can’t afford to do that every day.  What else is there to do? We aren’t 7 anymore … we can’t play house, or hide and go seek. Board games are only fun with a bunch of people.

I want to go back to school, where I live with friends, have classes and projects with friends, work with friends.  Just when summer is supposed to be starting I’m sick of it.

Leave a Reply

