write me a song

How do they do it?  They take my emotions and make it into a song; without even knowing how I feel.  So many times I hear a song and I wonder, how exactly it is that the artist managed to perfectly capture my emotions.  They have never met me and probably never will, yet somehow they can perfectly express me. It’s comforting sometimes, to know that I’m not alone in my feelings. Someone else out there is going through the same thing. 

Annoyingly, many of the songs I relate to are sad. My disappointments conveyed through music sound so much more beautiful.  But in reality, that’s not the truth. Being hurt and broken doesn’t feel beautiful. Rejection and loneliness aren’t something to harmonize about. And yet, I find comfort in these sad songs about broken people. Some of my favorite songs cause me to break down and cry if I take time to listen to the lyrics.  

Lesson: Don’t listen to lyrics anymore.

 I just can’t do that though! The notes, the chords, the harmony all add to the mood of the song and are sometimes involved in the emotion. But the lyrics are what I really connect to. 

He’s the reason for the teardrops on my guitar
The only thing that keeps me wishing on a wishing star
He’s the song in the car I keep singing
Don’t know why I do (Taylor Swift — Teardrops on my Guitar

I don’t know your thoughts these days
We’re strangers in an empty space
I don’t understand your heart
It’s easier to be apart (Keane — We Might As Well Be Strangers)

Don’t know what to do anymore
I’ve lost the only love worth fighting for
I’ll drown in my tear storming sea
That would show you, that would make you hurt like me

It’s such a shame
To let you walk away

I’m ill with the thought of your kiss
Coffee laced intoxicating on her lips

Shut it out
I’ve got no claim on you now
Not allowed to wear your freedom down

Is there a chance?
A fragment of light at the end of the tunnel?
A reason to fight?
Is there a chance you may change your mind?
Or are we ashes and wine? (A Fine Frenzy — Ashes and Wine)

Those are just a few examples; I have a whole long list! The list of songs about my dreams is a lot shorter.  There are not many songs written about how much people want to work in television! 😉 But in all honesty, happy songs don’t even have to be about anything specific to make me happy.  In this case, the lyrics are so much less important.  Still important of course, but the way the song sounds conveys a lot more of the happiness.  A high energy song like McFly’s Five Colours In Her Hair can make me just as happy as Write You A Song by Plain White T’s. Both have a different energy, but both songs make me happy! 🙂

Thanks musicians, artists, and songwriters everywhere!

Leave a Reply

